Genealogy Guides

Explore our collection of topical research guides, finding aids, and genealogy newsletters.


Quick Guides | In-Depth Research Guides | Finding Aids | Indexed Collections


Quick Guides

Each of these concise tri-fold pamphlets covers a specific genealogical topic and provides a variety of helpful information. You’ll find research methods, online resources and databases, how-to tips, and more. This resource is intended to serve as a starting point – for more detailed information on these topics, and more, check the Research Guides section below.

Quick Guide to the CCPL Genealogy Branch

Click the category name below to view a list of our Quick Guides related to that topic.


In-Depth Research Guides

Whether you are just getting started with your research or simply looking to broaden your base of knowledge and brush up on old skills, these detailed, step-by-step research guides have something for genealogists of all experience levels.

Click the category name below to view a list of our Research Guides related to that topic.


Finding Aids for Resources at the Genealogy Branch

With finding aids, you can search and utilize the parts of our collection that are not cataloged. The information contained in these indexes includes the title of each item, where it is located in our collection, the time frame it covers, and more.

Cass County Newspapers on Microfilm

County County Newspaper Title List

Historical Records on Microfilm

Periodicals Collection


CCPL Genealogy Digital Newsletter

The Genealogy Branch publishes a bimonthly digital newsletter containing information about new resources available online and in the branch, research tips, and upcoming programs and classes. To sign up to receive this newsletter and other branch notifications via email, contact the branch at askgenealogy@casscolibrary.org.

Most Recent Newsletter

▶︎ Archived Newsletters

Explore newsletters from the last 12 months.

December 2019

October 2019

August 2019

June 2019

April 2019

February 2019