Research Databases

Below is an alphabetical list of all research databases that Cass County Public Library patrons can access at every branch location or with a valid library card from home. If accessing at home, click on the link and enter your library card number.

ABC Mouse: With more than 8,000 interactive books, educational games, puzzles, and other learning activities, ABCmouse’s award-winning online curriculum is an invaluable resource for young learners (ages 2-8+). From Age of Learning, Inc. To access it without signing in at the library, use this link: ABCmouse @ the library.
Library & Home Use

Academic OneFile Select: Academic OneFile Select covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. This resource for academic research integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplines and now includes vocational/technical titles. Academic OneFile Select provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, of which more than 2,800 are in full text.
Library & Home Use

Academic Search Elite: Provides core resource of scholarly information for academic Institutions. Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals and over 1,700 peer-reviewed, full-text journals.
Library & Home Use

America’s News: Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S., including the Kansas City Star and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Library & Home Use

Ancestry: Research your family history with this enhanced library version of Ancestry.com. Contains over one billion names. Search the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 forward as well as immigration, vital, military, court, church, and ethnic records. Explore city directories, the Social Security Death Index, and more.
Library Use Only

Audiobook Cloud: AudioBookCloud is a streaming Audiobook service with no downloads, no software, no holds, and no waiting periods. Unlimited access to all the books, all the time. Just click and listen.
Library & Home Use

Audiobook Cloud for Kids: Find Audiobooks just for kids with no downloads, no software, no holds, and no waiting periods. Unlimited access to all the books, all the time. Just click and listen.
Library & Home Use

Audiobook Cloud for Teens: Find Teen Audiobooks with no downloads, no software, no holds, and no waiting periods. Unlimited access to all the books, all the time. Just click and listen.
Library & Home Use

Book Collection: Nonfiction – Elementary Edition: A searchable collection of non-fiction eBooks on popular school subjects for elementary school students. Subjects include careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.
Library & Home Use

Book Collection: Nonfiction – Middle School Edition: A searchable collection of full-text non-fiction eBooks on a wide range of subjects for middle school students. Subjects include careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.
Library & Home Use

Book Collection: Nonfiction – High School Edition: A searchable collection of full-text non-fiction eBooks on popular school subjects for high school students. Subjects include careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.
Library & Home Use

Book Connections: These databases contain resources to engage readers from over 260,000 books including Meet-the-Author movies, audio name pronunciations, audio book readings, discussion guides, vocabulary lists, and more. These are perfect tools to use with book clubs, class units, reading groups, and reader’s advisory.

Computer Skills Center: More than 100 self-directed video tutorials for commonly used software applications. Save your progress and return at your convenience.
Library & Home Use

Consumer Health Complete: A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Library & Home Use

Consumer Reports: Find better, safer products from the world’s largest nonprofit product-testing organization. Access articles, blogs, videos, and ratings through ConsumerReports.org.
Library & Home Use

CreativeBug: Creativebug has thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. Creativebug is the number one inspirational resource for DIY, crafters and makers.
Library & Home Use

Digital Literacy: Empower learners with digital citizenship skills to navigate today’s virtual landscape. Interactive activities guide students through project-based learning activities using digital tools to create podcasts, multimedia presentations, social media campaigns, and more. Database articles explore cyberbullying, digital research skills, citizen journalism, and more.
Library & Home Use

Driving-Tests.org: Free DMV Permit practice tests help you to prepare for your driver’s test. Includes car, motorcycle, CDL practice tests, online driver’s manuals, and an FAQ section with detailed questions to 100+ DMV-related questions.
Library & Home Use

eBooks on EBSCOhost: Search EBSCOhost’s extensive collection of eBooks and download to your computer or eReader. To download books, you must first create an account from a library computer.
Library & Home Use

ERIC: The Education Resource Information Center provides citations to education literature and resources.
Library & Home Use

Explora Educator’s Edition: The Educator’s Edition of Explora highlights content relevant to teachers, including lessons plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources.
Library & Home Use

Explora – Elementary: Explora Elementary is for elementary school students, with many graphics and access to age-appropriate materials. Includes topic overviews and over 60,000 videos.
Library & Home Use

Explora – General Research and eBooks: This graphically-rich interface is designed specifically for general research, and provides access to a wide range of materials. Includes topic overviews that provide a starting point for research and 60,000 top videos from the Associated Press.
Library & Home Use

Explora – Middle School: Explora Middle School provides age-appropriate content and topic overviews for students in middle school in an easy-to-use interface.
Library & Home Use

Explora – High School: Explora High School searches across multiple resources to provide in-depth results in an easy-to-use interface.
Library & Home Use

Financial Literacy: The Rosen Financial Literacy database makes economics and personal finance easy to understand and highly engaging. Articles explore macro-, micro-, and global economics as well as personal and household finance. Users will learn to manage credit and debt, save and invest with confidence, plan for college and retirement and avoid fraud and scams.
Library & Home Use

Fold3: Fold3 Library Edition (by Ancestry) provides access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. This continually growing collection contains millions of records from world-class archives, many of which are exclusively available on Fold3.
Library & Home Use

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia: Online encyclopedia covering more than 25,000 topics including biographies.
Library & Home Use

Gale OneFile: Computer Science: This database provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Library & Home Use

Gale Legal Forms: Gale LegalForms offers a wide selection of essential state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms that may be customized for the most common legal procedures. These forms are used by attorneys and law firms. Includes real estate contracts, wills, premarital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant, and many others. Support your form use with Legal Definitions, a Law Digest, and Legal Q&A to build your understanding.
Library & Home Use

Gale OneFile: LegalTrac: Ideal for students, law school faculty, and legal researchers, this resource provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Library & Home Use

General Science Collection: Composed of nearly 300 predominantly full-text academic journals and general science-focused magazines, this collection provides coverage of all scientific endeavor, including particle physics, quantum theory, advanced mathematics, and biotechnology.
Library & Home Use

GreenFILE: GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. This free research database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 850,000 records and open access full text for nearly 13,000 records.
Library & Home Use

Heritage Quest: Research materials for tracing family history and American culture containing over 25,000 books, the entire U.S. Federal Census, PERSI™, and other expanding collections.
Library & Home Use

Hoopla: On-demand access of over 1,000,000 titles (audiobooks, eBooks, comics, music, movies, and TV) streamed from any computer or mobile device by downloading the hoopla digital app for iOS and Android. 7 borrows a month per library cardholder.
Library & Home Use

Kansas City Star Collection-1991 to Current: Explore Kansas City history through local news, events and people with the Kansas City Star Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Library & Home Use

Learning Express Library: Interactive resource has over 300 online practice tests including: SAT, ACT, GED, GMAT, Nursing, Fire Fighter, Police, Middle School & High School Math & Reading. Many tests are available in Spanish.
Library & Home Use

Learning Express Library – Recursos en español para adultos.
Library & Home Use

Learning Express Library Adult Core Skills: Prepare for citizenship with sample tests and eBooks, and access interactive tools to improve your math, reading, and writing skills.
Library & Home Use

Learning Express Library Career Preparation: Interactive resource has over 300 online professional licensing practice tests including Nursing, Fire Fighter and Police.
Library & Home Use

Learning Express Library College Students: Strengthen your academic skills, prepare for placement tests, and take sample grad school entrance exams.
Library & Home Use

Learning Express Library College Admissions Test Preparation: Get help preparing for college with sample ACT, SAT, and other admission tests, and get help with admission essays and other writing.
Library & Home Use

Learning Express Library High School Equivalency Center: Prepare to get your high school equivalency credential with complete resources for the GED test, HiSET, and TASC.
Library & Home Use

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA): Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 600 core journals and more than 120 selective and priority journals. Coverage in this free research database extends as far back as 1960. LISTA also includes author profiles and a robust thesaurus.
Library & Home Use

MAS Ultra School Edition: This database is designed specifically for high school libraries and contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines including America’s Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, etc. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents and more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts); an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs; and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Library & Home Use

MasterFILE Premier: Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.
Library & Home Use

Missouri Digital Equity: This site was developed in partnership between the Missouri Research and Education Network (MOREnet) and the Missouri State Library (MOSL) to provide access to resources about technology, how to be safe and secure with it, and understanding how to evaluate information found online.

MEDLINE: MEDLINE® provides authoritative medical citations on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Library & Home Use

Middle Search Plus: Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; American Heritage® Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Library & Home Use

Missouri Libraries 2 Go: Download eAudiobooks and eBooks to your computer, eReader, or mp3 player. Be sure to check out OverDrive’s new app, Libby, for Android and iOS devices.
Library & Home Use

Newspaper Source: Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Library & Home Use

Primary Search: Primary Search®, designed specifically for elementary school students contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Library & Home Use

Professional Development Collection: Professional Development Collection™ includes full text for nearly 520 high-quality education journals.
Library & Home Use

Read It!: Read It! is designed for students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading. It offers resources to help build background knowledge, conduct research, and improve study skills. You’ll also find animated storybooks that kids can read along with, educational games, and teacher resources.
Library & Home Use

Resume and Cover Letter Builder: More than 200 expert-developed resumes covering a range of occupations and preparation levels to help you create your own resume and cover letter.
Library & Home Use

Scholastic ScienceFlix: With its emphasis on the latest STEM thinking and the Next Generation Science Standards, ScienceFlix provides students with a better understanding of science concepts and ideas through hands-on projects, videos, multiple text types, and so much more. Resources are best suited for 4th to 9th Grades.
Library & Home Use

Scholastic Teachables: Find tens of thousands of searchable and printable educational materials. Created by teachers and precisely leveled, our high‑quality, ready-to‑use resources. Resources best suited for Pre-K to 6th Grade.
Library & Home Use

Science Reference Center: Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Library & Home Use

St. Louis Post-Dispatch Collection–1988 to Current: Explore St. Louis history through local news, events and people with the St. Louis Post-Dispatch Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Library & Home Use

Teen Health & Wellness: This award-winning resource provides middle and high school students with up-to-date, nonjudgmental, self-help support. Articles are correlated to state, national and provincial standards. Topics covered include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, and LGBTQ+ information. It has recently been updated to meet the needs of today’s teens and with new content on bullying, suicide, vaping, opioid abuse, gender identity, school safety, sexual harassment, COVID-19 and more.
Library & Home Use

TumbleBooks: eBooks for Kids! Animated storybooks that kids can read along with, educational games, and teacher resources.
Library & Home Use

VetNow: The service includes live support with a veteran navigator; online expert assistance navigating the VA and benefits veterans are eligible for from local, state, and federal programs; help with transitioning to civilian employment and translating military skills for civilian jobs; and college preparation and support through a full suite of academic tools. Library & Home Use

WorldCat: Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries for books, web resources, and other materials.
Library & Home Use